The Mannequins Revenge

Have you ever thought to yourself that you could get more sense from talking to a wall rather than someone you are actually having a conversation with? I genuinely was talking to a wall the other day when a voice piped up and asked ‘what are you on about?’ little did I know I was standing right next to the changing room area in Primark. I jumped out of my skin. I actually thought the mannequin I knocked over had come back for some revenge. At the time I was genuinely terrified, until the curtain swung open and out popped a regular human being.

This isn’t restricted to blind and visually impaired people either. When you are doing something and then you get a fright caused by something unexpected, you jump out of your skin. They say you have a guilty conscience if this happens. Has it ever happened to you? What are you feeling guilty about? I thought my mind was quite clear, then I was walking to work the other day and a tree made me react in the same way as the talking wall from before. Damn thing smashed me in the face, didn’t apologise and then got on with its oxygen producing day. Little did it know the devastation it caused me that morning. Normally I float like a butterfly and sting like a bee. I react quick enough to dodge them and if they are causing me too much grief, you may well see me snapping some branches. I have lost count of how many branches I have left strewn on the floor after they have ruined my perfectly well-groomed hair. Not a good way to start the day. This time I must have had something on my mind, and it hit me full on. The worse thing is, I apologised to a tree. I apologise to all sorts of things. You name it, A Boards, trees, benches, people, cars, lamp posts and even things that aren’t even there. I was walking along an empty street the other day, could swear I nearly knocked over a dwarf. But when I turned around to check, there was nothing there. I still apologised.

The one and only time I lose my will to apologise is when someone is walking along and playing on their mobile phone at the same time. If they walk into me, that’s on them. I aint moving. Pay attention and my cane won’t ‘accidently’ go between your legs. It’s funny how fast that cane can move north even though I was only trained to go side to side.

The other time is push bikes on the pavement, at times I actively try and get in there way. They should be on the road. The only wheels that should be on the path are buggies, wheelchair and shopping trollies (children not included in this)

Anyway, just some randomness from a day in my life.

That’s it for now.

Speak soon.

MRWG

The Mannequins Revenge

Leave a Reply

